Help with Friend Permissions

We understand everyone has a diverse group of friends, and we want you to be in control of how your friends help you on Ship.

You may not want all of your friends to see all of your activity or even vet prospects for you, but we made it so both of these can be toggled individually.

To edit your permissions, you'll first go to the 'Profile' page.

  • Tap your profile avatar in the upper left corner of any page.
  • Tap on the 'Permissions' icon on the profile page.

From here you can edit what your friends can do and see.

What can friends do?

Friends are here to help you find someone they think would be a great match for you. To do that, you can toggle whether the friend has permission to vet prospects for you on this page. 

To manage what friends can do:

Since friends can only vet prospects for you, you can easily decide if you want a friend to be able to Like or Pass on prospects for you. If you grant your friend permissions, they'll be able to vet prospects for you based on your preferences. 

  • Tap 'Match for me' and scroll through your Friends list to edit who can vet for you or not.
  • Move the toggle next to the friend you do not want vetting prospects for you to the left.
  • Move the toggle next to the friend you do want vetting prospects for you to the right.
  • Tap above the Friends list to return to the 'Permissions' page.
  • Tap the 'X' in the upper left corner to save your changes.

What can friends see?

You get to decide how much of your Ship experience is shared with your friends. Whether you want your friends to see every time you send a DM to a match or only which prospects have been vetted for you, you can even choose specific members to see everything or nothing.

To manage what friends can see:

A friend's Activity Feed is where they can see activity related to you. When you remove these permissions you'll be given a pop-up letting you know all historic and future activity would not be visible in the friend's Activity Feed. If you allow these permissions, they'll be able to see the historic and future activity.

Friends can see a few different activities on Ship if permitted, and each can be added or removed individually. Here are the three options you'll see in Ship:

  • Which profiles have been vetted for you (by either you or your friends).
  • When you match with a prospect.
  • When you first DM a match, but not the content of the message.

How to edit your friend permissions:

  • Tap on the permission you want to change and scroll through your Friends list.
  • Move the toggle next to the friend you do not want to have that permission to the left.
  • Move the toggle next to the friend you do want to have that permission to the right.
  • Tap 'Okay' to confirm the change.
  • Tap above the Friends list to return to the 'Permissions' page.
  • Tap the 'X' in the upper left corner to save your changes.

Will friends be notified if I give or take away permissions? 

Your friends will only be notified if you give them permission to match for you – we won’t tell them if you take away any permissions.